Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Big Green Award

The Ferrum Football Big Green Award is given annually to a senior Panther football player, who best demonstrates the qualities of courage, hustle, and desire as a role model for his fellow teammates. The Big Green Award is in memory of the seven former Ferrum football players and Coach Rick Tolley who perished in Marshall University football team airline tragedy in November of 1970.

All seven players and Coach Rick Tolley were members of Ferrum's National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) National Championship team in 1968. The Panthers went 10-0 that season, in winning Ferrum's second national championship.

Ferrum would win two additional national titles before joining the NCAA Division III ranks in 1985. In 1994, Ferrum College inducted these eight men into its Sports Hall Fame Inaugural Class. A special plaque hangs in Hank Norton Center today in honor of these eight men.

In January 2007, Ferrum's Athletic Department hosted a private screening of the movie "We Are Marshall", a film which chronicles the crash and Marshall’s struggle to field a team in the ensuing years. Horace Green, a team captain on the 1968 Ferrum football team, spoke prior to the show, describing the relationship between Marshall and Ferrum.

Ferrum's Men Lost in Marshall Plane Crash
Coach Rick Tolley
Thomas W. Brown
David D. Griffith
Patrick J. Norrell
James R. Patterson
Arthur K. Shannon
Jerry D. Stainback, Jr.
Thomas J. Zborill


1970 Marshall University Football Team


Annual Recipients

1971  Jim Hottle
1972  Jim Grobe
1973  Richard Greene
1974  Mike Antonopoulos
1975  Gary Wells
1976  Johny Douglas
1977  Ed Lewis
1978  Billy Jarvis
1979  Bernie West
1980  Rob Stanley
1981  Leno Ilardo
1982  Frank Rossi
1983  Ricky Cruze
1984  Randy Harper
1985  Mark McGlothlin
1986  Mark Federovitch
1987  Nathan Scott
1988  Greg Thurman
1989  Paul Scott White
1990  Kevin Sherman
1991  John Sheets, Cecil Philips
1992  Kirt Studevant
1993  Ray Brown
1994  Ray Brawley, Chris Glascock
1995  David Waddell
1996  Kevin Slough
1997  Derrick Hollins
1998  J.C. Harmon
1999  James Puryear, Charles Spangler
2000  Randy Anderson
2001  Greg Middleton
2002  Matt Stinson
2003  Chris Ward
2004  George Masten
2005  Dustin Hamoy, Alvin Jones
2006  Jermaine Pitts
2007  Shaun Green
2008  Nic King
2009  Matt Dobson
2010  John Branch
2011  Steven Harris
2012  Scott Puschell, Kenny Tapscott
2013  Wes Franklin
2014  Anthony Orton
2015  Thomas Betts
2016  Anthony Konieczka
2017  Alveno Matthews
2018  Lawrence Baranski III