Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Akers, Hairston, Kipps, Smith, Harvey Earn Women's Basketball All-Conference Honors

Akers, Hairston, Kipps, Smith, Harvey Earn Women's Basketball All-Conference Honors
USA South Release

FERRUM, Va. -- The Ferrum College women's basketball team earned a number of honors when the USA South announced the 2013 All-Conference Team today.  Tesla Akers earned a second straight All-Conference first team honor, while Bryan Harvey earned Coach of the Year for the second time in as many years.

Akers is averaging 13.1 points per game this season, shooting just over 35% from behind the three-point line.  This is Akers' fourth All-Conference honor, including her first-team selection last season and two third-team selections in 2010 and 2011.  Akers was the USA South Tournament MVP last season, leading the Panthers into the NCAA Division III Tournament for the first time in 17 years.

Harvey led the Panthers to a share of the USA South regular season title this year at 16-2 in league play.  Ferrum's current 22-3 record is its best-ever regular season finish.  Harvey also earned USA South Coach of the Year honors in 2007 and 2012. Harvey's career record stands at 154-64 (.706) in his eighth year as Ferrum's head coach.

Jacole Hairston and Katy Kipps were named to the All-Conference second-team, while Shea Smith was an honorable mention.  This is Smith's second league post-season award, having earned honorable mention in 2011.  Rachel Dalton is Ferrum's USA South All-Sportsmanship Team selection.

Ferrum is the top seed in this week's USA South Tournament, being held at Crown Center Arena Friday through Sunday, Feb. 22-24, in Fayetteville, North Carolina.  The Panthers face #8 Averett University in the quarterfinals Friday at 11:00 a.m.